Crear un snapshot (EN)

Return to a previous VM state using snapshots

Last updated 19th January 2022

Objective

VMware offers the ability to take snapshots so you can save and possibly go back to a VM's previous state.

This guide explains how to execute these tasks

Requirements

Instructions

Take a Snapshot

A snapshot allows you to capture a VM state.
It offers a layer of protection for your VM prior to executing changes as it offers the ability to come back to that state if needed.

In the vSphere interface menu, go to the Hosts and Clusters dashboard.
Navigate to your VM, right-click it and, in the Snapshot menu, select Take Snapshot.

TAKE

By default, the snapshot will be named after the current date and time. You may edit it to your preference.
A description may also be added for reference.
If your VM is running, the snapshot process offers two options:

  • Snapshot the virtual machine's memory. This will save the VM Ram state, helping with certain applications that may not have commited changes to disk. It should also make your snapshot crash-resistant, meaning it can be reverted to without powering off the VM.
  • Quiesce guest file system (Needs VMware Tools installed). This will bring your VM to a state that is backup suitable: clearing buffers, committing changes to disks...

If your VM is not running, those options are greyed out.
We recommend taking snapshots of a turned off VM and if it is not possible, preferably use the Quiesce option over the memory snapshot for added security.

Click OK when ready.

SNAP

Your snapshot is done.

Manage Snapshots

You can take multiple snapshots of a single VM repeating the process explained above.
With time, snapshots will consume resources, especially storage, to be maintained and possibly will affect VM performance.
Below is how to revert, clear or consolidate snapshots.

Revert to Snapshot

In the vSphere interface menu, go to the Hosts and Clusters dashboard.
Navigate to your VM, right click on it and in the Snapshots menu, select Manage Snapshots.

MANAGE

Check the snapshot tree and select the one you wish to go back to.
Click on Revert To.

REVERT

Confirm by clicking OK.

CONFIRM

You can click Done as your VM has been reverted to the point chosen.

If you only have a single snapshot or wish to revert to the last taken snapshot, you can speed up the process by choosing Revert to Latest Snapshot in the Snapshots menu.

Clear Snapshot

In the vSphere interface menu, go to the Hosts and Clusters dashboard.
Navigate to your VM, right click on it and in the Snapshots menu, select Manage Snapshots.

MANAGE

Check the snapshot tree and select the one you wish to delete.
Click on Delete.
You can also clear all snapshots by clicking Delete All.

DELETE

Confirm by clicking OK.

CONFIRM

You can click Done as your snapshot was cleared.

If you wish to clear all snapshots, you can speed up the process by choosing Delete All Snapshots in the Snapshots menu.

Consolidate snapshots

Snapshot consolidation is useful when snapshot disks fail to compress after a delete operation. After consolidation, redundant disks are removed, improving virtual machine performance and saving storage space.

In the vSphere interface menu, go to the Hosts and Clusters dashboard.
Navigate to your VM, right click on it and in the Snapshots menu, select Consolidate.

CONSOLIDATE

Confirm by clicking YES.

CONFIRM

You can find more information about consolidation on the VMware documentation.

Go further

Join our community of users on https://community.ovh.com/en/.


¿Le ha resultado útil esta guía?

Si lo desea, también puede enviarnos sus sugerencias para ayudarnos a mejorar nuestra documentación.

Imágenes, contenido, estructura...: ayúdenos a mejorar nuestra documentación con sus sugerencias.

No podemos tratar sus solicitudes de asistencia a través de este formulario. Para ello, haga clic en "Crear un tíquet" .

¡Gracias! Tendremos en cuenta su opinión.


Otras guías que podrían interesarle...

OVHcloud Community

¡Acceda al espacio de la OVHcloud Community! Resuelva sus dudas, busque información, publique contenido e interactúe con otros miembros de la comunidad.

Discuss with the OVHcloud community

A partir del 1 de enero de 2015, con arreglo a la Directiva 2006/112/CE modificada, los precios IVA incluido pueden variar según el país de residencia del cliente (por defecto, los precios con IVA incluyen el IVA español vigente).