Available datacenters, worker nodes and persistent storage flavors

Last updated June 29th, 2021.

Available datacenters, worker nodes and persistent storage flavors

Available regions / Datacenters available

A Managed Kubernetes Service deploys a Kubernetes Master within a given OVHcloud datacenter.
All its worker nodes and persistent volumes are then deployed by the cloud controller in the same region.

Currently the service is available in GRA (Western Europe), SBG (Central Europe), WAW (Eastern Europe), BHS (North America), SGP (Southeast Asia) and SYD (Oceania) regions. OVHcloud US customers can also deploy the service in both our East and West American datacenters. All your compute and storage resources will then be spawned in the dedicated region of the associated public cloud project.

Available worker nodes flavors

When adding a worker node, Managed Kubernetes Service will deploy a managed Public Cloud instance in the same region/datacenter. The worker nodes types correspond to the standard OVH Public Cloud catalog offered in this region and are billed at standard price.

We currently support 3 types of instances with guaranteed and constant resources:

  • DISCOVERY (D2-4 and D2-8 only)
  • IOPS ORIENTED (i1-*)

Each family offers contains different flavors, consisting of a five amount of vCores, RAM and local storage.
For more information, please refer to the following page: OVHcloud Public Cloud instances

Note that we are both compatible with the standard and flex variations (Flex offering the same disk size for each flavor). Note however that Managed Kubernetes Service does not currently offer worker nodes resize.
Using our API, you shall use the flavor name such as b2-7 as parameter of the POST /cloud/project/{serviceName}/kube/{kubeId}/node endpoint.
This is detailed in the quickstart with OVH API guide.

GPU (T1-*) instances are note yet supported, because they require specific software components for Docker to leverage the GPU. We will support those in the future.

Available persistent Storage Classes

When adding a persistent volume though Kubernetes API (or kubectl), it will actually be deployed using Public Cloud additional disks (Cinder Volumes). We support the following Storage Classes:

  • csi-cinder-high-speed compliant with Managed Kubernetes Service after to the 1.15.7 release
  • csi-cinder-classic compliant with Managed Kubernetes Service after to the 1.15.7 release

All these Storage Classes are based on Cinder, the OpenStack block storage service. The difference between them is the associated physical storage device, cinder-high-speed and csi-cinder-high-speed uses SSD, while cinder-classic and csi-cinder-classic uses traditional spinning disks. This is detailed in the Persistent Volumes guide.

We will support future classes as soon they are made available in OVH Public Cloud.

Did you find this guide useful?

Please feel free to give any suggestions in order to improve this documentation.

Whether your feedback is about images, content, or structure, please share it, so that we can improve it together.

Your support requests will not be processed via this form. To do this, please use the "Create a ticket" form.

Thank you. Your feedback has been received.

These guides might also interest you...

OVHcloud Community

Access your community space. Ask questions, search for information, post content, and interact with other OVHcloud Community members.

Discuss with the OVHcloud community